OCR on motors

BV inspection in the automotive industry, task description

The task of this project is the position recognition and verification of lasered VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) designations on cast aluminium engine blocks and transmissions with very inhomogeneous substrates.

Problem Description

In this case, in addition to unambiguous traceability, a position recognition of the labelled area via OCR evaluation is to be implemented by the system. For clear traceability, engine blocks as well as transmissions are provided with a VIN number. This is applied by laser during production and must then be verified and read out. For this purpose, an image processing system was seamlessly integrated into the customer’s existing system, which reads the previously lasered code and compares it with the specifications of the control system. If the test is successful, the motor is forwarded; if the test is faulty, the corresponding signals are transmitted to the PLC and the status is visualized to the operator, while the test object is discharged at the same time.

Image processing solution

At Volvo, an image processing system was seamlessly integrated into the existing system, which reads the previously lasered code and compares it with the specifications of the control system. If the check is successful, the motor is forwarded; if the check is faulty, the corresponding signals are transmitted to the PLC and the status is visualized to the operator.02

In addition, the system has position recognition. Both laser and camera are attached to a movable robot arm that moves to a specific marking position depending on the motor type. Since the conveyor system does not have sufficient positioning accuracy, the camera checks the laser pose before the marking process and informs the controller of any differences.
After correction of the position a safe marking is now possible. The system is rounded off by an intuitive user interface where the last camera image, position and OCR reading data as well as setting parameters are visualized.

The decisive factor here is the establishment of stable and high-performance communication between the machine vision system, user program and motion control. This was ensured by a solution of integrated system technology from a single source.

Customer benefits

Due to the import conditions of some countries, e.g. USA, UAE or Saudi Arabia, engines and gearboxes must be marked directly on the main component with a unique marking. With the OCR application implemented by ISW, the marked plain text without really knowing which alphanumeric character combination was marked on the main part is captured by a camera and evaluated by the software.
In the next step, the recognized alphanumeric character combination is compared with the data set provided by the higher-level controller. The result of the evaluation is then stored by the image processing system in a log file and sent to the higher-level control system.

OCR (Optical Character Recognition) auf Motoren

BV Inspektion in der Automobilindustrie, Aufgabenbeschreibung

Die Aufgabe dieses Projektes ist die Lageerkennung und Verifizierung von gelaserten VIN-Bezeichnungen (VIN = Vehicle Identification Number) auf Alu-Guss-Motorblöcken, sowie Getrieben mit sehr inhomogenen Untergründen.

Problembeschreibung

In diesem Fall soll zusätzlich zur eindeutigen Rückverfolgbarkeit eine Lageerkennung der beschrifteten Fläche via OCR – Auswertung durch das System umgesetzt werden. Zur eindeutigen Rückverfolgung werden Motorblöcke wie auch Getriebe mit einer VIN-Nummer versehen. Diese wird während der Fertigung per Laser aufgebracht und muss anschließend verifiziert und ausgelesen werden. Hierzu wurde beim Kunden ein Bildverarbeitungssystem nahtlos in die bestehende Anlage integriert, die den zuvor gelaserten Code liest und mit der Vorgabe der Steuerung abgleicht. Bei erfolgreicher Prüfung wird der Motor weitergeleitet; bei fehlerhafter Überprüfung entsprechende Signale an die SPS übermittelt und dem Bediener der Zustand visualisiert, bei gleichzeitigem Ausschleusen des Prüflings.

Bildverarbeitungslösung

Bei Volvo wurde ein Bildverarbeitungssystem nahtlos in die bestehende Anlage integriert, die den zuvor gelaserten Code liest und mit der Vorgabe der Steuerung abgleicht. Bei erfolgreicher Prüfung wird der Motor weitergeleitet; bei fehlerhafter Überprüfung entsprechende Signale an die SPS übermittelt und dem Bediener der Zustand visualisiert.02

Des Weiteren verfügt das System über eine Lageerkennung. Sowohl Laser als auch Kamera sind an einem beweglichen Roboterarm befestigt, der je nach Motortyp eine spezifische Markierposition anfährt. Da das Fördersystem keine ausreichende Positioniergenauigkeit aufweist, wird vor dem Markiervorgang die Pose des Lasers durch die Kamera überprüft und Differenzen der Steuerung mitgeteilt.
Nach Korrektur der Position ist nun eine sichere Markierung möglich. Abgerundet wird das System durch eine intuitive Bedieneroberfläche, an der die letzte Kameraaufnahme, Positions- und OCR-Lesedaten sowie Einstellparameter visualisiert werden.

Entscheidend hierbei ist der Aufbau einer stabilen und performanten Kommunikation zwischen Machine-Vision-System, Anwenderprogramm und Bewegungsführung. Dies wurde durch eine Lösung durchgängiger Systemtechnik aus einer Hand sichergestellt.

03Kundennutzen

Aufgrund der Import-Bedingungen einiger Länder, wie z.B. USA, VAE oder Saudi Arabien, müssen Motoren und Getriebe direkt auf den Hauptbauteil mit einer eindeutigen Kennzeichnung markiert werden. Mit der durch die ISW umgesetzte OCR Applikation wird die markierte Klarschrift ohne wirklich zu wissen, welche Alphanumerische Zeichen-Kombination auf den Hauptteil markiert wurde, von einer Kamera erfasst und durch die Software ausgewertet.
Im nächsten Schritt wird dann die erkannte Alphanumerische Zeichen-Kombination mit dem von der übergeordneten Steuerung zur Verfügung gestellten Datensatz verglichen. Anschließend wird das Ergebnis der Auswertung vom Bildverarbeitungssystem in einem Log-File hinterlegt und an die übergeordnete Steuerung gesendet.